iRevise Online Grinds Starting 18th January to 8th April

Post Leaving Cert Courses in Ireland

Post Leaving Cert Courses in Ireland

Post Leaving Cert Courses

If you have finished your secondary education and would like to develop vocational and technological skills in order to get a job or to go into further education and training, the Post-Leaving Certificate (PLC) course may be the one you are looking for. The PLC is often seen just as a course for school-leavers. In fact, you will be also welcomed as an adult participant.


Budget Update

In Budget 2011 a new charge of €200 per year is introduced for Post-Leaving Certificate (PLC) students.

More Information on PLC courses

PLC courses take place in schools, colleges and community education centres around the country. The courses are full-time and last for one to two years. They offer a mixture of practical work, academic work and work experience. They are designed as a step towards skilled employment and, as such, they are closely linked to industry and its needs. Post Leaving Certificate courses adopt an integrated approach, focusing on technical knowledge, core skills and work experience. Almost half of the time spent on these courses is devoted to knowledge and skill training related to employment, with a further quarter spent on relevant work-based experience.

Areas of Study

Over 90% of PLC courses are delivered by VECs (vocational education committees). A wide range of disciplines are covered including business, electronics engineering, computing, catering, sport and leisure, theatre and stage, performance art, art craft and design, equestrian studies, multi-media studies, journalism, tourism, marketing, childcare and community care, hairdressing and beauty care, applied science, horticulture etc. See 'How to apply' below for a link to the national learners' database, where you can search for PLC courses. The qualification you receive at the end of your training will depend on the type of course you have chosen. Many of the one-year PLC courses offer Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC) accreditation at level 5 on the National Framework of Qualifications, while other more advanced courses may offer FETAC level 6, which can lead to further studies at third level. Other qualifications such as City and Guilds are also available. It is important to check out the qualification attached to a particular course before you decide to enrol.

Useful Links